Leaving on a jet plane…

Well, it’s official, i’m leaving for NY, NY on saturday, to return on the 15th. Lots of running around to do, lots of shopping for corporate clothing (yeck). I’m excited and nervous all at once, but the boss and his wife are there already and have organized me a sweet little studio apartment, fully furnished, with kitchenette and tv and all that fun stuff so i should be sorted. And the apartment is close to Rock Center. yay!

I got my second monitor today! It is so damn cool. I am loving the organizational aspect of having my inbox on the one screen and composing on the other, or having the issue list on the one screen and the application in question on the other….the list goes on. My desk just looks so damn techy. i love it.

Days like these, i know i’m a geek. There’s nothing wrong with it. it’s great.

2 Responses to “Leaving on a jet plane…”

  1. Once you’ve had two screens, you can’t possibly go back. It is, imho, far better than the TFT panel option you guys have. Be warned, tho, many applications don’t deal with two screens properly, and will do wacky things like open dialogue boxes on the wrong screen and suchlike. Fullscreen apps are especially bad.

  2. The normal explorer windows manager seems to handle the multiple monitors fairly well and therefore apps tend not to do anything funny. Only when one uses a nonstandard wm do things go weird, at least that is what I have found.

    w-v: ragged girly underwear mutilating utilitarian trouser youths

Comments are closed.

