TGIF

Whee! Friday!

In news that inspires mixed emotions, a large project that we were about to take on and that was causing the majority of my workload this week, has been taken out of the client’s budget for now. On the up side, it gives me a little more time in my day to focus on the other big project barrelling down the pipeline; on the down side, it was looking like a great project to work on. In any case it is really only on hold and will probably be resurrected in a few months, but my workload is suddenly looking a lot more reasonable.

Synk tells me that he can’t find any sign of Doom showing in any of the theatres here, despite it supposedly coming out yesterday. Similar for Serenity. What the fuck is going on with the movie distributers in this country? They are royally fucking their audience over. Seriously, which movies are best seen in a theatre with big screen and surround sound? Dramas? Comedies? Romances? I think not. It’s the special effects movies that people would pay to see at the cinema rather than wait for them on DVD or satellite. It’s movies like Doom. There is going to have to be a serious fonging if i cannot watch either of those movies at the cinema. Entrails will become extrails.

Pain. Lots of pain.

In the news, some guy got so sick of the 2 year wait for his ID book to be replaced, after it was initially issued with incorrect details, that he took a Home Affairs official hostage with a toy gun. The result? They got his ID book to him in 3 hours, including flying it down to Cape Town from Pretoria. Although he is about to appear in court on charges of kidnapping (?), the public is supporting him wholeheartedly. Anyone who has ever had to deal with Home Affairs knows how bad it is. My only regret is that he didn’t go in with a minigun and make a real job of it.

Oh, and I just found out that they’re filming Ghost Rider: The Movie. The kicker? Nicholas Cage is the title character. Nicholas Cage??? That’s just an odd choice. Odd.

Reading IMDB news, I also see that some Bollywood star had a ‘bowl’ operation. I wonder what part of you anatomy your ‘bowl’ is? Fruit Bowl? Is that anything like your bread basket?

3 Responses to “TGIF”

  1. Doom opens on the 9th. Though I’m not entirely certain why you’re so desperate to see it. I mean, I love the Rock as much as the next man, but there are only bad noises about this movie.

    Serenity, though, has just fallen off the radar.

  2. yep, i discover now that my sources were in error *wink*. Still, Serenity is looking like a no-show despite trailers at the actual cinema. Arse.

    And how is the expectation that the Doom movie might be bad going to stop me seeing it? Did it stop me seeing Dungeons and Dragons? No!

  3. can i point out to you that the games didn’t have a plot. that is the whole point.

    my only vaguely negative comment on the movie is that i think jason strathom looks more like the doom guy, but the rock probably has the acting talent required to pull it off.

Comments are closed.

