The Name Game

Someone must have lit a fire under the IAU’s ass, because they’ve moving like lightning on planetary issues right now. They’ve finally given 2003UB 313 an official planet name: Eris (goddess of strife and discord). It’s moon is now called Dysnomia (goddess of lawlessness). Much better than their nicknames Xena and Gabrielle, although the Bad Astronomer makes a punny point that we may not have escaped the references entirely.

Pluto, on the other hand, has just received its minor planet designation: 134340. Don’t worry, this isn’t replacing the name of Pluto. Ceres, for example, is also minor planet 1. Pluto’s response?

Pluto responds

And yes, I know, I haven’t done this week’s midweek cuckoo yet. I’m working on it, it’s just that my real life i.e. the job that pays me money, is commanding a lot of my attention just now.

6 Responses to “The Name Game”

  1. Dysnomia? The odds that your average person will will get the joke are – well – astronomical, but then I suppose that’s the point🙂

  2. Dysnomia? The odds that your average person will get the joke are – well – astronomical, but then I suppose that’s the point🙂

  3. hm. there’s an echo in here.

  4. hm. there’s an echo in here

  5. must be a dual planet somewhere messing up the frequencies.

  6. of course. kyknoord wanted to correct his ‘will’
    yes – dysnomia.
    er… I forget.

Comments are closed.

