Terry Pratchett diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s

This is the saddest thing I’ve heard in a very long time. A man whose razor-sharp wit and keen insight have resulted in some of the smartest books every written, will in a short time no longer be able to write them. Even worse, he will likely not remember that he ever could.

Pratchett himself remains mildly optimistic and begs readers to remain cheerful. He says he expects to write a few more books yet. But for me, it’s not the loss of future books that is sad – it’s that in time he will not even know they were lost.

So, on that note, let’s honour the man while he still knows he’s being honoured.

8 Responses to “Terry Pratchett diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s”

  1. I agree with him that things should be kept cheerful — I’m finding it hard. I’m really wondering if he will tie-up the various character stories on The Disc in the next few books. What I have loved about the books is that there is a perpetual continuation of the story, that nothing ever really ends. I’d like to see things continue that way, no end in sight for the universe on “the astral plane that was never meant to fly”. I’d like to think that our window to that universe is closing but it doesn’t stop existing just because we can’t see it anymore.

  2. residentRsole Says:

    Perhaps he should end it now, while he is at the top of his game. Go out with a bang rather than degenerate into an undignified mess. I am sure that I am not the only person thinking this.

  3. On the plus side, at least he’ll be able to ghost-write for Dan Brown.

  4. that is sad – i’m really grateful that’s he’s managed to contribute as much as he has to our species. in that his wit is immortal.

  5. His books will remember for him.

  6. residentRsole Says:

    kyknoord: and for David Icke as well !

  7. this is indeed vey sad news.
    I adore his books and his humour!
    I am very very grateful for what he’s written.

Comments are closed.

